Workus Interruptus

Standard

Horace’s Odes were one of my favourite pieces of literature that I had to study at school for Latin A Level all those many moons ago.

It was Horace who incited his audience to drink (nunc est bibendum) to live quickly since we are but dust and shadow ( pulvis et umbra sumus) and countless other commonly tossed around Latinisms. I don’t think workus interruptus was something he ever wrote down but I like to think that it may have been something he said. Maybe just before going to have a long and boozy lunch. One thing is for sure, he did say: life is short, winter is drawing in, so carpe diem .

It seems that I’m living up to those same Epicurean standards. At the beginning of the year, I quit my day job to go freelance. It means that I no longer have a cushty monthly salary coming in, no more reimbursements from the healthcare system nor lump sums going into a pension scheme. But, it means I organise my own time, I could let my hair go into dreadlocks if I feel like it and, most importantly, I can travel.

Which brings me to the point of this blog post, coming to you from a rooftop terrace in Oltrano, Florence.

“Wisdom is not wisdom when it is dervied from books alone.”

I’m in the middle of a month-long road-trip around northern Italy and Sardinia. Visiting the vineyards, trying out new restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner and working on a book. But admittedly, my suntan is coming along much better than the book right now…

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter to keep up to date with my travels.

“For even as we speak, time runs swiftly away.”

Until the end of June, please be patient if I don’t reply to emails within the normal delay. I’m on Italian time!

Leave a Reply

